top of page

Check out

the Facebook Group where teachers from 

participating schools share their experiences.


What kind of curriculum is The Adventures of Taryn and Her Friends? 

The Adventures of Taryn and Her Friends is an urban farming curriculum, designed for students of all abilities. Units include: Worms, Mushrooms, Gardens, Ants, Aquaponics, Chickens, Butterflies, and Ladybugs. Each unit in this urban farming curriculum corresponds to a short chapter in The Adventures of Taryn and Her Friends fairytale. The fairytale’s protagonist, Taryn, challenges students to work together in the classroom to help solve a real-world problem. After the challenge is presented the learning begins and so does the adventure!


Why was this curriculum created?

This curriculum was created so students in urban settings could relax, have fun and connect with nature while learning key ELA and STEM lessons, as well as broader concepts like problem-solving, healthy eating, and environmental stewardship.


What is urban farming?

“The growing of plants and the raising of animals within and around cities” - RUAF Foundation. 

What are some benefits of urban farming?

  • Inspires investigative learning. 

  • Provides a means of physical exercise.

  • Helps ease stress, anxiety, and frustration. 

  • Improves fine and gross motor skills.

  • Stimulates sensory awareness.

  • Assists with cognitive functions.

  • Encourages communication and social skills.

  • Improves self-esteem.

  • Boosts creativity.

  • Encourages problem-solving.

  • Improves critical thinking.

  • Improves visual attention.

  • Develops an understanding and appreciation of our food sources. 

  • Provides companionship and an opportunity to nurture and be nurtured by animals.

  • Promotes responsibility.


Who do the students meet on their adventure and what do they learn?

The students meet worms, mushrooms, fish, frogs, ants, plants, chickens, butterflies, and ladybugs. They learn all about:


  • Anatomy

  • Life cycle

  • Classification

  • Counting and measuring

  • Observing and documenting

  • Experiments and predictions

  • Embryology

  • Incubation and hatching

  • Using scientific tools

Environmental Stewardship

  • Planting

  • Composting

  • Recycling and upcycling

  • Appreciating and protecting our earth 

  • Caring for living things

  • Understanding that all living things are connected 


  • Reading 

  • Vocabulary

  • Writing

  • Story time

  • Arts and crafts 

  • Sculpting

  • Singing 

  • Playing instruments


What set of standards is this curriculum aligned with?

This curriculum is aligned with the NYS Common Core Standards.


Out of the ~440 NYS CC standards, how many standards are covered in each unit?


1. Worms       
2. Mushrooms
3. Aquaponics
4. Ants            
5. Gardens     
6. Chickens    
7. Butterflies   
8. Ladybugs   

NOTE: The Common Core Standards covered in this curriculum are listed at the end of each unit’s Lesson Plan.


For more information, please contact us at info AT sproutbydesign DOT com.


Number of standards covered

Social Intelligence    

  • Teamwork

  • Sharing

  • Taking turns

  • Communicating and improving social skills

  • Creating and following safety rules

  • Exploring individual and cultural identity 

Physical Education

  • Hands-on, multisensory activities 

  • Gardening

  • Dancing

  • Using tools    

Health and Nutrition

  • Understanding and appreciating food sources

  • Healthy eating and juicing 

  • Calming and therapeutic effects of animals and nature

bottom of page